I’ve got the Monday Blues


Happy Monday to everybody! Hope your weekend had been fab!

I was  nervous about the Semi-final for the ScrapFactor on UKS which you can vote for until Sunday evening, 8pm. And sadly, I didn’t have enough votes to make it to the Final which starts today. Don’t forget to give your vote to the three bestest layouts you find HERE.

My last week’s project was a minibook of Kingston Lacy. I made it while my parents visited us in the UK.

To remember this day I made a little book for my parents with pictures of this landscape garden. I started with some plywood boards I found on my shelf, a bit bigger than 6×6″ and 1/8″ (4mm) thick. To make a nice backing for my paper I painted them with white acrylic paint and polished it with sandpaper (to get it smooth again and to see the structure of the wood).Most of the patterned paper I used is by MyMindsEye “lime twist” because of the bright colours in this collection. But I still kept my scrap box in reach to add some more papers by October Afternoon, Cosmo Cricket, Studio Calico, Pink Paislee, Websters Page, SU, Echo Park. Each page is a small double sides “layout” and I tried to keep those connected with the paper, embellishments or title of the page.Some pictures are matted with plain card stock by Bazzill, SU and American Crafts. The alphabets this time couldn’t be that big so I chose smaller ones from American Crafts, MyMindsEye, sassafras, Crate Paper, Bella Blvd.The variety of embellishments found in my (endless) stash come from companies like Maya Road, We R Memory Keepers, Prima Flowers, Aunty Sahra’s Bloomers, Basic Grey, Studio Calico, Papermania, October Afternoon, Kaiser Craft, Cosmo Cricket, Baker’s Twine

The acrylic paint is by Making Memories and Jenni Bowlin; Colour Mist by Studio Calico.Ribbon and Fibres are out of my older stash, could be Basic Grey and others!
The metal things hanging on the top book ring are also things I found in my boxes; sorry – can’t remember any company!
Lots of punches this time; I used manufactures such as Martha Stewart, Fiskars, EKSuccess and SU.
To get the holes into the wood I used my Crop-a-dile Big Bite and some eyelets (WeRMemoryKeepers)
for the front and back cover to finish it off.

The journaling says:
Front cover: Kingston Lacy, July 2011
Rose Garden: pink bonica and other blooming beauties around the central rotunda
Penstemon Firebird: What a stunning colour next to the South Terrace! Can I take those home?
Gardeners Footsteps: Gardeners of Kingston Lacy recycle their old boots!
Walk & Rest: Cedar Avenue – the walk with the bestest view ever! Worth a rest!
Back cover: South Lawn

Thank you sooo much for supporting me over the last 13 weeks! You are a great bunch of people! Luv ya!

And curious about the layouts I scrapped for the case I made it through the semi-final?! Watch this space tomorrow!

I’m off now, preparing for Explore – another online-class with the one and only Shimelle😉 Will show you my Playbook later!

9 thoughts on “I’ve got the Monday Blues

  1. I’m sure your parents were delighted with this beautiful mini-book. The photos are quirky and interesting, the papers are bright and cheerful, the designs are clean and fresh but with plenty of interest. A well-deserved place on the final podium!

  2. Wie schade, dass Du nicht gewonnen hast😦
    Für mich bist Du die absolute Meisterin der Layouts, Daphne!

    Das Mini ist soooooo schön. Deine Eltern werden begeistert sein.

    Viele Grüße
    Ines

  3. Hallo Daphne,
    ich liebe deine Lo’s sie sind so farbenfroh und fröhlich! Du bist meine NUmmer eins – auch wenn dieses mal nur der dritte Platz drinn war
    LG
    Carola

Leave a Reply

