Snowed In in 1978


You probably have noticed it already: I like snow. Or shall I say: I love it?
But what to do when there is NO snow around you (and you can’t drive round the corner to some higher grounds)?
You dive into old pictures; into times, there was LOTS of snow around you and you were covered in it 😉

So let me take you back to 1978, when I was four years old and my parents took us on a winter holiday to the Fichtelgebirge! I don’t remember lots of this holiday, only what the pictures show me: lots of snow, sleigh rides, winter storms, and more snow!
In the picture I am holding a children’s broom in my hands, helping my Dad clearing our car from the snow! I can remember that he was worried that I would scratch his car paint 😉

Wahrscheinlich ist es euch schon zu Ohren gekommen: Ich liebe Schnee! Leider ist dieser bis heute noch nicht aufgetaucht; jedenfalls nicht hier. Bei durchschnittlichen 10°C ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit auch recht gering! Was also tun, wenn man doch so gerne noch ein paar Fotos mit Schnee verscrappen möchte? Man gräbt in den alten Fotos! Birgit hat mich mal wieder auf diesen Pfad gebracht, als sie Fotos aus ihrer Kindheit verscrappte!
Also lasst mich euch auf eine kurze Zeitreise nehmen, ins Jahr 1978, als ich gerade mal vier Jahre alt war. Unsere Eltern fuhren mit uns in den Winterulaub ins Fichtelgebirge (das ist alles, was ich noch weiß!). Dort gabs Schnee en masse und mein Bruder fuhr Ski, und ich Schlitten (und zwar die Auffahrt zur Scheune hinunter). An einem Tag war unser Auto so sehr eingeschneit, dass ich meinem Papa helfen durfte, es freizuschaufeln. In der Hand halte ich einen Kinderbesen und mein Papa hatte große Bedenken, dass ich damit den Lack zerkratze. Ich glaube aber, dass alles gut gegangen ist!

Supplies:

Echo Park Paper Co. – Season’s Greetings – Christmas Ads
American Crafts – Thickers – Patchwork Ladybug
American Crafts – Remarks Stickers – White Christmas
div. Washi Tape, Tissue Scraps, Stickles, Pearls, Rhinestones, MS Punches

4 thoughts on “Snowed In in 1978

  1. Beautiful page, love the colours and embellishments you’ve used, they go so well with the cute photo, and love how you have created the snow paint effect across the page, just lovely! I love snow too! Suzie xxx 🙂

  2. Daphne, still not sure quite why you love snow so much!!! It does look beautiful when it is newly fallen, but it is cold – and WET – {shudder} 🙂

    This layout however, is just lovely, love the colour scheme, all your wonderful embellishments but especially the famous Daphne splodges 🙂 So, all that time working on that photo was sooo worth it 🙂

    Carole xxx

  3. Auch wenn ich für den Winter nicht viel übrig habe und den Schnee eigentlich nicht vermisse: Dein Layout ist wunderschön, Daphne. Vor dem dunklen Hintergrund machen sich die Rot- und Rosatöne prima!

    Liebe Grüße auf die Insel
    Birgit

Leave a Reply

