Little Charlie – and some Thoughts about Sketches


In order to scrapbook, I don’t need much inspiration from challenges… the more complicated the more it discourages me: You are only allowed two PP! No glue on your page! Use at least two different stamps! Do a black and white layout! Blimey! That sometimes is blocking my creativity!
But: I do like good sketches! Love them – to be honest! I’m definitely a sketch-person! With a sketch it is totally up to you which colours you use, if you do stamping (or not), how to stick it down and how many PPs there will be!

Where to find sketch inspirations? There are lots of challenge blogs around, like Sketchabilities, Sketchy Thursdays, Creative Scrappers, Pencillines, and a new German blog Sketchladies (like the sketches, not the restrictions😉 ). In our SBW-Forum we offered Sketches every week but it got a bit lost. So we decided to started a monthly one called “Monatsstarter” -> have a look HERE.

And last but not least: Shimelle! Her blog is full of inspirations with sketches! She’s done the Sketch of the Week last year (not sure it is continued) and the Starting Points which are now revealed on Mondays instead of weekends! And the new Starting Point is my today’s layout! This is my page before:

and this my finished layout:

For this page I used my Echo Park Paper “Country Drive” Collection Kit which has been in my stash since it was published! Time to use it before the new papers will be for sale after this years CHA!

Shimelle used stars on her Starting Point layout – but hey! The star-season is over (I used tons of stars in my Christmas Journal) and it’s time to get those butterflies out again!

Um zu Scrappen benutze ich nicht sooo viel Inspiration von Challenges – je komplizierter die Aufgabe desto weniger hab ich den Drang, mich der Aufgabe zu stellen: Benutze nur zwei verschiedene PP! Kein Klebstoff verwenden! Benutze wwei verschiedene Stempel! Scrappe nur mit Schwarz und Weiß! – Sowas blockiert mich manchmal völlig!
Aber: Ich liebe einen guten Sketch!
Wenn man einen Sketch verwendet, dann schreibt einem keiner die Farben vor, ob man auf dem Layout stempelt oder wie man alles befestigt! Geschweige denn irgendwelche Restrictions über PP!
Wo findet man Sketch Inspirationen? Es gibt viele Challenge Blogs, wie z.B. Sketchabilities, Sketchy Thursdays, Creative Scrappers, Pencillines, und ein neuer Deutsche Blog Sketchladies (ich mag die Sketche, nicht die Beschränkungen😉 ).
Auch in unserem SBW-Forum stellten wir vergangenes Jahr jede Woche einen Sketch vor, allerdings verlor sich das am Ende völlig im Sand. Für dieses Jahr entschieden wir uns für ein neues Format, den “Monatsstarter” -> mehr Informationen HIER.
Und natürlich: Shimelle! Ihr Blog ist voll mit Sketch-Inspirationen! Letztes Jahr gab es jede Woche den “Sketch of the Week” (ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob das fortgesetzt wird) und die “Starting Points“, die nun jeden Montag vorgestellt werden anstelle am Wochenende! Und dieser neue Starting Point ist mein Layout für heute!
Für mein LO habe ich mein Echo Park Paper “Country Drive” Collection Kit  geräubert, welches sich unter meinem PP befand seitdem es publiziert wurde! Wirklich Zeit, es zu benutzen bevor die neuen Papiere nach der Winter CHA an den Start gehen!
Shimelle hat auf ihrem Layout viele ausgestanzte Sterne verwendet, doch da ich diese schon en masse in meinem Christmas Journal verwendet habe und nicht wirklich zu diesem Layout passen, hab ich endlich wieder mal meine Schmetterlinge verwendet! Hooray for that!

And what do you need as an inspiration for your layouts?! Did I miss a good sketch blog?! Really interested in your thoughts!

Supplies:

8 thoughts on “Little Charlie – and some Thoughts about Sketches

  1. ich sehe, wir sind challengemäßig auf einer Wellenlänge🙂 Du hast es sehr treffend beschrieben und mir geht es da genauso. Vielen Dank für deinen netten Kommentar auf meinem Blog. Du hast recht – es hätte mehr Farbe vertragen. Allerdings sieht es in “echt” gar nicht so schlecht aus. Leider bin ich ein super schlechter Fotograf😦
    Schöne Sketche finde ich auch hier: http://www.pagemaps.com/ die habe ich hier fein säuberlich abgelegt und nehme sie auch gern zur Hand.
    LG aus germany, Silke

    • yup, du da hast du Recht! Zuviel ist zuviel manchmal… Und was das fotographieren angeht: Ich versuchs immer bei Tageslicht zu knipsen und evtl. mit Picasa nachzukorrigieren!
      Danke für den link, werde ich in meine Liste mit aufnehmen!
      xxx

  2. Oh jaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
    Farben und Schmetterlinge…..
    Der früüüüüüüüüüüüüüüüüüüüühling kann kommen!
    Ich liebe es, Daphne!

    LG Ines

  3. Really beautiful page, I adore your little cat, and love your butterflies. I must get hold of some butterfly punches, do you mind me asking you are these the Martha Stewart ones? only thy seem to be two difference sizes, I would love these, but have not been able to find them.
    Suzie xxx🙂

Leave a Reply

