Welcome to the Frosty Festivities Blog Hop!


Welcome Ladies to the Frosty Festivities Blog Hop 2012! You should have reached me from Abi and I’m really excited to be part of it. A a very big thank you to Jennifer for organizing it! There is even a big big prize you could win, but more of that later.

My layout “Waiting for Snow” I want to share with you today is a total mixture of old and new things: I used new photos (from this November!) with old, wintry paper I found in my special Christmas box!

In order to make more room in this special box I used up papers, stickers and embellishments of the October Afternoon “Good Cheer” (2008!), Echo Park Paper “Wintertime” (2010), Crate Paper “Peppermint” (2011). This chipboard die cut saying “Love” is very old as well (it is so old the self adhesive layer is totally NOT adhesive any more!), it is by Déjà Views “Flurries and Frost” (2007). This reminds me one more time: Use your stuff while you love it and it still works!

I even reactivated all my glittery supplies: Glitter Glue, Stickles, Glossy Accents,… Ladies – the time has come you are allowed to use it LOADS!

Right, now to the official part: There is – apart from a big big prize from Jennifer – a little give-away from ME on this bloghop. I’m giving away an AMERICAN CRAFTS Amy Tangerine “Ready Set Go” Date Stamp!

All you have to do is leave a comment on this blog post telling me with what you have started already to begin your festive season this year!

And for the BIG blog hop, you just have to comment on all the blogs in the hop, finishing at http://www.jennifersjumbles.blogspot.com to let Jennifer know you’ve been all the way around. Then you’ll be in with a chance to win a spectacular seasonal prize of Basic Grey Aspen Frost and Carta Bella Winter Fun items (see picture below), worth over £25! All entries (for the big prize and for my own little give-away) must be received by Monday the 19th of November at 10.59pm GMT. Your next stop along the hop is Jacky.

In case you got lost – here are all the lovely ladies taking part today:

Jennifer: www.jennifersjumbles.blogspot.com
Abi: www.creatingpaperdreams.blogspot.co.uk
—> Daphne <— you are here!
Jacky: www.scrappyjackylive.blogspot.co.uk
Jemma: www.just-jimjams.blogspot.co.uk
Jenny: www.dragonllew.blogspot.co.uk
Jo B: www.buckinghamspalace.blogspot.co.uk
Jo S: www.curlyscrapbooker.blogspot.co.uk
Julie: www.icreatepurtythangs.blogspot.co.uk
Kirsty: www.journalofcuriousthings.co.u
Lisa-Jane: www.comeinsidemycrazyhead.blogspot.co.uk
Lizzie: www.lizziemade.blogspot.co.uk
Louise: www.scrapbook-me.blogspot.co.uk
Mel: www.ispeakmelsh.co.uk
Rinda: www.gallorganico.blogspot.co.uk
Sarah: www.maisiemaycrafts.blogspot.co.uk
Sian: www.fromhighinthesky.blogspot.co.uk
Jennifer: www.jennifersjumbles.blogspot.com

Good Luck to everyone! xxx

42 thoughts on “Welcome to the Frosty Festivities Blog Hop!

  1. Love the colour combination you used.
    I have so far tarted up the start to go at the top of my tree, made 2 pairs of xmassy earrings and decorated a cake stand in a seasonal way 🙂

  2. I love the layout, especially the colours and the jitteriness. Christmas, mmm, I am desperately trying to pretent it is not here. I have bought a few stocking stuffers, filled a shoebox for charity and started to take photos for JYC. Better get a move on.

  3. ooh I love your LO. Have made some Christmas cards, don’t tend to make many. Am also planning the girl’s advent calender – I try to do something different every year, last year it was a book to read each day. This year I’m thinking a daily treasure hunt.

  4. Ooh, stunning layout. It doesn’t look like you’ve used old supplies at all! I love the series of three small photos, and the layered snowflake is just gorgeous! Thanks so much for joining in with the Blog Hop.

    I’ve been doing a lot for Christmas already, and you’ll see it all on my blog this weekend! x

  5. daphne, a gorgeous layout, the colours and the three photos look amazing. How nice of you to offer a giveaway too – i started my christmas shopping today and have been die cutting lots of snowflakes for projects x

  6. I MUST start to use up old stash – thanks for the reminder Daphnie and what a great LO.

    I’ve started on Christmas by wrapping 90% of pressies, made 6 “family” cards, made a jeans apron for my friend, sorted secret santa, uploaded christmas tunes to my ipod for the Christmas crop, made DD’s advent calendar and planned the Guides christmas craft evening – phew!

  7. Liebe Daphne,

    was ist das wieder für ein tolles Layout und Irgendwann muß man doch auch die “gestreichelten” Dinge mal verarbeiten ;-).
    Ich kann Schnee und Winter ja nicht viel abgewinnen, aber Weihnachtskarten sind nunmal was Schönes und damit habe ich jetzt angefangen.

    GLG Ines

  8. I think ‘use your stuff while you still love it and it works’ is a great mantra for crafting!
    I have ordered a few Christmas pressies online, even given some out to family that I might not see. I have almost started my Christmas cards and have started planning my advent activities! Thanks for the chance towin that fab stamp xxx

  9. That’s a great layout for it to have been old materials. You sure can’t tell. I love it with all the layering and visuals. I have started making some of my ornaments for my tree. I hope to finish in time.

  10. I am so with the using up old stash right now. I am planning my JYC 2012 journal and have a bag of new and old piled ready. Also planning Xmas watching,
    Jo xxx

  11. Oh, that’s gorgeous! I love the bright red with the soft pink and blue 🙂

    Me, I’ve done a fair bit of gift shopping – online, and I’m planning to make my own Christmas cards using a photo I took last year; I spent some time today trimming the prints to size in readiness 🙂

  12. I’m so getting into glitter this year – never been much of a sparkler before, but loving it this year 🙂 I love that layered up snowfale embellishment – beautiful!

  13. You’ve used my favourite Christmas colour scheme on your lovely LO. My preparations so far have included quite a lot of Christmas card making and a little bit of shopping.

  14. I’ve been thinking about the planning of my December daily album. The formats etc. My husband has been stamping some Christmas images with our son for Christmas cards.

  15. I’ve run out of cash this month so I can’t do any more shoppingright now. Need to write cards and make teachers’ gifts this month. Don’t put me in the draw – I’ve just received one of those lovely stamps in Shimelle’s Christmas goody box

  16. this is such a lovely layout thank you for sharing it.
    Today I’ve made my Christmas Puddings, while I was waiting for them to cook, 7hrs steaming, I did a layout of ‘making my Christmas Puddings

  17. Hello Daphne, haven’t found your blog before, but I think it’s good here!

    Love the scrapbook page. The photos are lovely and winter-timey and the red & white bakers’ twine to separate them makes a great frame too.
    White & red are great for winter, but the icey teal-blue that you have added is just the best extra touch. You’ve put it together so nicely – all the layers and different patterns could be messy, but you obviously know what you’re doing, because it’s just right!

    • OOp! forgot about your little giveaway question, with all the waxing lyrical about your great scrap page!
      I have been making little Christmassy notebooks (mostly for my shops) and also Christmas decorations – in fact, my own post today is a little tutorial for some of those paper decorations!

  18. Love ypur layout!! Just finishing my Christmas cards….and have wrapped a few presents that will have to be delivered early!!!

  19. Gorgeous page & love that you’ve used old stash!! So far … I’ve started the gift shopping, the cake is made, made a good start on card making, bought a few new tree decorations …and written various lists!! Thanks for the chance to win the date stamp!! x

  20. That’s a good reminder to use materials while you still like them. It’s amazing how others take their place in the favourite squad otherwise. Thank you for the chance to win the date stamp – I would SO LOVE one of these!

  21. Gorgeous layout – love all the layers and the colour scheme. I have got my Christmas mincemeat ready for a few mince pie making sessions, have almost finished my Christmas shopping and made a start on making my Christmas cards. I’m sat here surround by digi images that I have been glittering this evening so that they are dry ready for mega card making session this weekend.

  22. I am a big fan of trying to use the stash, and think your page is absolutely beautiful! What have I done for Christmas so far? Written a list. I’m not very good at starting preparations early! I am hoping to take some photos of my children this weekend as I usually use a family photo on our Christmas cards and gift-tags.

  23. lovely layout, i can’t wait for snow either!
    i’m very very far from home currently so i can’t decorate or anything but my xmas presents are almost all bought!

  24. I am 1/3 through making my Christmas cards. I have been listening to Christmas CD’s to get me in the spirit and i have been cambing pinterest to find the perfect packaging for my Mum and sisters gifts that need to be mailed. I found it today and it will match their Christmas card!!!

  25. Fab layout Daphne – I love the design, the way you’ve layered the ribbons and given me so many excuses to get out the sparkle! I’m usually a bit slow to get started on the Christmas preparations, but this year I’ve made 5 Christmas tags for a swap on Tag Tuesday – which reminds me, they MUST go in the post today :o)

  26. Hi Dapfnie! I love the colour combo you have used on your fab LO….the Christmas music is on in our house and we have started watching the DVDs..am hoping to start writing the cards tonight!
    Alison xx

  27. I love the way you layered the banners on this layout. The whole layout is just wonderful. (I already own the Dear Lizzy stamp, so please don’t enter me in that drawing.)

  28. Ah I relate to self adhesive stuff losing its sticky – mind you it does that in the album too :sigh: I’ve just finished regluing one set of pages!

    We’ve just finished clearing/sorting out living room shelves ready for the advent stuff that will be coming out soon. Have a list of things to do in Advent on our white board and have been making lists… ordered the first few presents too.

  29. Lovely layout!

    I’ve done some Christmas shopping but very excited as we went to our local garden centre today and saw some reindeer! They’d pulled Santa’s sleigh and whilst I didn’t want my children to see him so early, we loved stroking the reindeer!

  30. Beautiful Layout – I love the Snowflake and tags. I spent last night making a start on my Christmas cards. Sally

  31. I love the colours on this LO.
    So far, the only Christmas prep I have managed is starting to stitch a present and plan my travels home to England. I start in force once I have got my working weekend out of the way and then I will be singing Xmas tunes for a week lol

  32. Wow, love your card and that stamp!
    I’ve started working on some gifts and Jennifer just inspired me to make an activity Advent calendar, I think that’s next!
    I also have a lot more candles in the house now that winter is here… I love the atmosphere they create.

  33. I love the layout and the color scheme is spot on to match my Christmas decorations. I am gearing up for doing some sort of December Daily or Christmas mini this year and I am shopping for a different tree, one to add to a tabletop. Oh and I am trying to add to my lanterns and the beautiful turquoise frosted candles that go inside.

Comments are closed.