Hello, December!



There it is: The last day in November. And me? Where have I been? Yes, I’ve been preparing my Christmas Journal for the last couple of weeks and finally I can show it to you!

As last year’s Journal was a self-bound one, this years journal is going to be a D-Ring Album with divided page protectors. I chose one by Simple Stories and bought it way back when it hit the stores earlier this year. Looking onto Pinterest and other forums I can see this type of album lots – although it is the version with the red binding. Find all of the albums HERE. The divided page protectors can be found HERE.

For the cover design I chose a tree hanger with bling I bought last year as it was quite sparkly! As the cover from last year was quite centred on the front I decided to go for something different – an off-centred title and decoration! There we go:

Inside my album are the divided page protectors which I RANDOMLY filled with cut PPs. I like it to be flexible so nothing is fixed or glued down yet:

And there they are: my numbers for this years album! I chose THIS pack by American Crafts and as I extend my Journal until the 6th of January I made the rest of them on my own:

Not hard to spot the added ones, right? They are a bit lighter in colour, the numbers are stickers by JillyBeanSoup and the round stamp is from an older stamp set by My Mind’s Eye. As these are the number tags for the days AFTER Christmas, I’m totally OK with the different but similar look!
Inside the little tag pockets are PPs (3 3/4 x 2″) I’m using in the album as well. They can be taken out of the pocket and there is additional space on the back (kind of a hidden journaling spot!).

What papers/kits do I use?! Well, way back in summer I pre-ordered Shimelle’s “Christmas Scrapbooking Stash”. I also use papers from the Collection Kit by My Mind’s Eye “Winder Wonderland”, last year’s October Afternoon papers “Holiday Style” and other PPs which have no christmassy label on it but fit to the theme.

My Embellishments: I’m also in love with the wood veneers this year, so I chose to use the Studio Calico – Wonderland – Wood Veneer Trees and the Studio Calico – Wonderland – Wood Veneer Snowflakes – I would looove to own some of these: Studio Calico – Classic Calico Vol. 2 – Wood Veneer Tiny Stars -but unfortunalely I wasn’t able to get a packet… (if someone out there got a spare one and want to share it with me – yes please!!!).

And my Jouranling?! As usual I go with Shimelle’s Prompts of her yearly “Journal your Chirstmas” online class. As I’m doing it for the 5th time now it really is/was worth the money, because your don’t have to pay it every year but just ONCE and you are in FOREVER! My prompts and daily entries are not always the topics Shimelle suggests; sometimes it does not apply to me and I chose something different or just a review of the day.
In addition to Shimelle’s prompts I’m doing the “25 days : A December Daily guide with instructor Maggie Holmes” class, offered by Studio Calico. We will see how it works!

And now: Are YOU joining in this year?! Have you prepared YOUR album yet? If you like you can link it up at the bottom of this post and I will have a look!

So, jetzt isses soweit! Der letzte Tag im November und mein Christmas Journal ist fertig! Endlich kann ich euch zeigen, was ich die letzten Paar Wochen so angestellt habe!

Mein Album letztes Jahr war ein gebundenes Format, aber diese Jahr wollte ich es mehr flexibler gestalten. Ich entschied mich schon im Sommer für ein D-Ring Album mit Divided Page Protectors von Simple Stories. Wenn man sich so auf Pinterest oder Foren umschaut, so findet man viele solcher Alben diesen Dezember; allerdings mehr in Rot als in Braun😉 Die Alben gibt HIER, und die Page Protectors HIER.

Mein Cover ist auch anders als der von letztem Jahr; Nicht so zentriet diesmal, und auch mehr auf den Winter bezogen mit ner großen glitzernden Schneeflocke, die ich im Gartencenter letztes Weihnachten gekauft habe.

Meine Nummern für jeden Tag im Advent bis Weihnachten und die Tage danach bis zum 6. Januar 2013 bereite ich immer vor, so gehen die einzelnen Einträge immer recht flitt von der Hand. Dieses Jahr habe ich DIESEN Pack von American Crafts für mich entdeckt. In jedem Tag Pocket steckt ein Stück PP (3 3/4 x 2″), das ich auch im Album verwende. Man kann dieses kleine Teilchen natürlich auch rausnehmen und auf der Rückseite hat man einen zusätzlichen Journaling Spot – sogar versteckt, wenn man will! Da die Pocket Tags nur von 1 bis 25 laufen, habe ich die restlichen für Dezember und die sechs im Januar selbst gemacht. Sie sehen nicht identisch aus, aber ähnlich und damit bin ich völlig zufrieden, denn es sind schließlich die Tage NACH Weihnachten. 

Welche Papiere/Kits verwende ich? Letzten Sommer habe ich bereits Shimelle’s “Christmas Scrapbooking Stash” vorbestellt und das kam vor einiger Zeit bei mir an. Guter Mix von thematischen und neutralen aber dennoch passenden Papieren! Außerdem werde ich Papiere aus dem Collection Kit von My Mind’s Eye “Winder Wonderland” benutzen, die Papiere von October Afternoon “Holiday Style” und andere, einzelne PPs, die dazu passen werden.

Die Embellishments?! Ne gute Mischung von ALLEM, aber besonders liebe ich die Wood Veneers dieses Jahr, also habe ich mir diese Pack geholt: Studio Calico – Wonderland – Wood Veneer Trees und Studio Calico – Wonderland – Wood Veneer Snowflakes. Leider hab ich diese Studio Calico – Classic Calico Vol. 2 – Wood Veneer Tiny Stars nicht mehr abbekommen. Schade. Falls also jemand von EUCH noch einen pack über hat – ICH ICH ICH bitte😉

Und mein Jouranling/Topics?! Wie immer fahre ich am besten mit Shimelle’s Prompts ihrer jährlichen Online Class “Journal your Chirstmas” ganz gut! Da ich diese Class auch schon zum fünften Mal mitmache, hat sich der Preis allemal gelohnt, denn man muss sich nur EINMAL anmelden und ist dann FÜR IMMER dabei.
Wenn mal ein Prompt von Shimelle nicht passt, dann schreibe ich einfach über etwas anderes, oder einfach nur über meinen Tag. Ich sehe das nicht so eng! Zusätzlich in diesem Jahr habe ich mich für diese online class entschieden: “25 days : A December Daily guide with instructor Maggie Holmes”, angeboten von Studio Calico. Ich werde sehen, was ich daraus ziehen kann!

Und nun? Macht ihr dieses Jahr auch ein Album? Oder WIEDER? Ist es schon fertig für den ersten Eintrag morgen? Ich bin gespannt und wenn du möchtest, dann verlinke dich doch einfach hier! Ich würde es gerne sehen!

12 thoughts on “Hello, December!

  1. Your cover and tags are gorgeous. I’m looking forward to starting my book tomorrow. I’ve almost finished last year’s book but the cover is proving too difficult for me. I may just ask my 6 year old niece to design it for me.

  2. Gorgeous! Das ist der Hammer, wie das ALbum schon von außen aussieht! Meins ist nichmal halb so hübsch, aber wird von innen bestimmt ganz toll, ich hab noch nicht wirklich viel eingeklebt, aber ich mache fleißig Fotos und schreibe Notizen auf jeden Tag – wird dann wahrscheinlich mehr in Nacharbeit entstehen. Momentan ist es relativ stressig nebenher, da ich gerade noch meinen Führerschein mache und mein Freund krank zuhause ist und den halben Tag aufm Sofa liegt, sodass ich nicht an meinen basteltisch kann, das macht die Dranbleiben-Sache etwas schwerer. Aber ich schaff das! Dein December Daily find ich jedenfalls grandios, diese Tags sind ja eine Augenweide, ich glaub die brauch ich auch für nächstes Jahr…

Leave a Reply

