Rosamunde P. (Thinking of Her)


IMG_6777

On our holiday in Cornwall we stayed in an area which is very popular for German tourists as well (and let me tell you, we really saw LOTS of Germans!). There is this famous British author of romance novels and some other mainstream women’s fiction. Rosamunde Pilcher. But when asking a British person who she is, not many of them can tell you that. She is much more popular and well-known in the German speaking countries – but why? I guess it is because the national TV station ZDF (‘Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen’) has produced more than 100 of her stories (did she ever wrote this many really?) for TV. Fact also is that ‘both ZDF programme director Dr. Claus Beling and Rosamunde Pilcher were awarded the British Tourism Award in 2002 for the positive effect the books and the TV versions had on Cornwall and Devon tourism within the UK’ (Wikipedia). Even The Telegraph wrote about it HERE in May and said that “regular visitors to the South West will have noticed themselves sharing the beaches and attractions with a remarkably large number of Germans lately” (The Telegraph, 21 May 2013). Funny.

Oh yes – I admit! I was totally into Rosamunde Pilcher when I was younger! In fact it was she who ‘introduced’ me into more adult books in my teenage years. From time to time I go back and read the odd short story she wrote, but not this much any more. I have other authors I love now😉

When we were in Cornwall we didn’t intentionally went to places Rosamunde has a connection to, but one fact always has been intriguing to me: The train line along the the Cornish coast from Lelant to St Ives. I SO wanted to do that (like Rosamunde did it when she was young) – and finally on our last day we took the train along the coast to St Ives! *sigh* It was a short trip (about 10 – 15 minutes) but with such great views of the beaches! Something we definitely will do again when we are in Cornwall!

Rosamunde P. - Daphne - dapfniedesign - My Mind's Eye The Sweetest Thing

As I needed a romantic theme for this layout (along with papers by My Mind’s Eye ‘The Sweetest Thing’) I took the flower idea from my DT colleague Sylvia – she used it on her card and isn’t that romantic!? And they are really easy to make! Sylvia describes it on her blog: ‘I made the flower from 5 scalloped circles that I die cut from white crepe paper (…) and using a silver pearl brad as a center.’ I think they would work with tissue paper as well…. or what about filter paper?! hmmmmm IMG_6778So, as it is Friday today and there is a long Bank Holiday weekend ahead of us – what are your plans?! I know the weather forecast doesn’t sound too good, but there are sunny spells they say. Good luck you get this for the region you are in! Have a great time!

6 thoughts on “Rosamunde P. (Thinking of Her)

  1. Hallo Daphne,

    das ist eine tolle Geschichte, die sich um Dein Layout rankt.
    Dein Layout mit seinen Scalopp-Blüten gefällt mir sehr gut!
    Hier ist es Heute warm bei 27°C und so soll es auch Morgen sein, wenn ich nach Holland zu einer tollen Kreativmesse für Scrapper fahre. Leider soll es Sonntag Regen geben und da möchte ich zu einem Trödelmarkt in der Nähe, der leider nur einmal im Jahr stattfindet.

    GLG und schönes WE
    Ines

  2. I used to read Rosamunde Pilcher too but I did not know she was credited for tourism! I live in Canada so this was a new information for me. Something to put on my list of places to visit perhaps! Love your work.

    • Thanks Jeannine – I am a happy girl you like my layouts! Not only did Rosamund Pilcher set her novels around Cornwall, but the TV series they made/make are located around where I live as well, in Dorset! Unfortunately those films are for the German market and not very British😉

  3. Just love your style of scrapbooking so much Dapfine! Your Cornish LO’s are so beautiful. Cornwall is somewhere I have never been and looking at all this stunning photos you have taken makes me think we should plan a trip next year. Enjoy the bank holiday weekend.

    • Thank you Candace – glad you like my layouts; and I am sorry to make you go to Cornwall for your next holiday. Not! LOL
      It really is a nice place to be (even when the sun is not out) and I am far from done with all my pics to scrap!
      Have a great long weekend too!

Leave a Reply

