The Reason Why | Scrapbooking Layout | Hand Cut Letters


My Take On Logo

Hello and welcome to Wednesday’s new series My Take On…

Today I am showing you a layout I prepared for last Saturday’s National Scrapbook Day (NSD). As a former Guest Designer I was invited to join the girls from Happy Scrappy Friends on their online-crop on Facebook. We were able to offer twelve challenges in twelve hours. Our participants still have time to complete their projects until 9th May, although we already received really creative scrapbooking layouts. Keep your pages coming in girls!

My challenge for NSD was a game of Tic Tac Toe – for scrapbookers of course! You were allowed to pick a line, a row or a diagonal line from the grid and use those elements on a scrapbooking project! It is as easy as that!

TicTacToeEN

 These were the elements to choose from:

  • 2+ Photos – use two or more photos on your project!
  • Corrugated Card – some companies include them in their collections, but you also can use an old cardboard box and peel off the top layer.
  • Buttons – they were really trendy a few years ago, but you don’t see them very often nowadays. Still got loads in your stash? Use them now! (Need some inspiration? Have a peek here, here, and here)
  • Washi Tape – still trendy and still lovely!
  • Hand Lettering – create your title either with your own creative handwriting or use your scissors and cut it out by hand! No die cutting machines allowed!
  • Glitter – either loose or as glitter glue, makes your layout even more glamorous!
  • Colour Blue – blue is my favourite colour, so everyone is allowed to scrap with it today!
  • Paint – use all sorts of paint on your project; you can sprinkle, smudge, paint, draw….
  • Doily – not everybody’s cup of tea, but every now and then I still like to use them, when it fits to your style.

The Reason Why - dapfniedesign - close up 2 - National Scrapbooking Day - Happy Scrappy Friends

For my layout I used the diagonal line from the bottom left to the top right: the colour blue, the hand lettering and the buttons!

I tried not to use anything else from the grid and I think it turned out quite right! The dots in different sizes and colours (all shades of blue, just how I love it!) make it rather busy anyway, so I didn’t need any paint splatters to add on.

The Reason Why - dapfniedesign - National Scrapbooking Day - Happy Scrappy Friends

The Reason Why - dapfniedesign - title - National Scrapbooking Day - Happy Scrappy FriendsI decided to cut my title by hand from a strip of paper I had left over when I matted the photo. I just snipped off about an inch and then free cut the letter without lining it out first; if you don’t feel this confident, try to sketch your letter on the back (make sure it is mirrored!) and then cut it out. You also could print out mirrored letters and adhere them on the back of the paper as a guide.
Some of the Happy Scrappy Friends participants created great pages, there is so much talent out there! View them here: Maja, Bianca and Mel.
I also layered three little embellishment clusters with the buttons, which create my visual triangle on the page.

For my layout I used Shimelle’s new paper collection “True Stories” by American Crafts – a colourful and delightful journey through a palette of pink, orange, teal, yellow and green. I especially love all the different polka dot designs. There are also cameras, coffee mugs, flowers, typewriters and bicycles in there – so stinkin’ cute!

The Reason Why - dapfniedesign - close up 1 - National Scrapbooking Day - Happy Scrappy Friends

I hope you liked My Take On… my challenge. Do you feel motivated and inspired now? Come on, get your stash out and get started! There are so many possibilities with this kind of challenge! Make sure you link your layout in the comments so I can come and visit your blog!

And what is coming next? On Friday I challenge YOU to another different form of creating titles for your scrapbooking layouts. Come and join me!

5 thoughts on “The Reason Why | Scrapbooking Layout | Hand Cut Letters

Leave a Reply

