Breakfast Adventure | Scrapbooking layout with Metal Dies by Craft Asylum | Shimelle by American Crafts


 

I Challenge You Logo

For this week’s episode of I challenge YOU I would like to dust off your metal dies. I have neglected mine for quite a while. After I moved into my flat last summer, there was a lack of space to store my die cutting machine, the Big Shot, openly and with unrestricted access.I have a good selection of the classic frame dies (by Spellbinders and other well-known companies like Sizzix or Memory Box), shapes and embossing folders.

Then, earlier this year I made the “mistake” to visit Hobbycraft. Although I normally don’t find many useful elements for my type of scrapbooking (Papermania or Tattered Lace are just NOT my style, sorry!), I found some nice Sizzix Thinlits die sets by Craft Asylum – a British company with scrapbooking paper collections (including different sized paper pads, clear stamps, embellishments) and metal dies made by Sizzix to fit their collections. I wasn’t so sure about the patterned paper, but the dies had me! So, I bought these:

Sizzix Thinlits Die Set 2pk Decorative Trim #1Sizzix Thinlits Die Set 2pk Decorative Trim #2 and Sizzix Thinlits Die Set 4pk Decorative Bubbles

Here you can see my page in the process. Borders from trim set #1 and the Decorative Bubbles already cut.Scrapbooking Process - dapfniedesign

The patterned papers I used for this layout are all from the Shimelle Collection by American Crafts. I added some golden die cut circles to it and some golden splatters. I love those little red hearts! They were the leftovers from the die cut strip and I just couldn’t through them away. What a clever idea to include them on my layout, right?

Breakfast Adventure - dapfniedesign

Breakfast Adventure - dapfniedesign - Title

Breakfast Adventure - dapfniedesign - close up 3

Breakfast Adventure - dapfniedesign - close up 1

Breakfast Adventure - dapfniedesign - close up 2
As I already mentioned, I have a lot of dies. Maybe too many. But I finally found a nice space for my Big Shot Machine, so I can use it without having to tidy it away afterwards – and I hope this will help me to use my metal dies more often! Otherwise they wouldn’t be worth buying at all!

Now it is your turn: Dig out your metal dies and use at least 3 different shapes on your next page! If you don’t have these kind of manual die cutting system, you either can use your electronic cutter (which is quite posh to have I think) or some of your punches (which I also have a lot and use so little). I would love to see your layouts with die cuts, so please leave a comment below and I will have a look on your blog!

Make sure you check back at 6pm BST, when there will be even more scrapbooking inspiration: Jennifer from Jennifer Grace Creates organised a blog-hop with tons of inspiration around her Word of the Year: Focus – and I am part of it! See you soon!

 

 

One thought on “Breakfast Adventure | Scrapbooking layout with Metal Dies by Craft Asylum | Shimelle by American Crafts

Leave a Reply

