Surfing in April – Really? | My Take On… Mood Boards! | “Shoreline” by American Crafts


My Take On Logo

Happy Wednesday everyone! I hope your week started off well and the wind has just blown away the cobwebs and nothing else! It is quieter now and maybe the summer is coming at the weekend as spring never really happened this year!Surfing in April - dapfniedesign - title

Anyway – today’s layout has been inspired by a mood board. I haven’t scrapped from mood boards very often, but I am getting there – it is just another matter of learning something new! Elly Zitronensuess (find her HERE) was part of the online crop from Happy Scrappy Friends a month ago (celebrating National Scrapbook Day) and she challenged us with this:

In my opinion, I did relatively well, considering my unfamiliarity with using a mood board:

  • I followed the colour scheme
  • I added a golden touch
  • I chose a beach theme
  • I punched three little anchors
  • I got some water in there
  • I included spotty and stripy paper designs

Really – I think that is brilliant! 😉

Surfing in April - dapfniedesign

I picked an older collection from American Crafts called “Shoreline” – I love those retro designs and those surfboards just waited to be used on the right page! I tried to keep to the colour scheme with the bold blues and pinks, and threw in a tiny bit of yellow – which fits perfect with the row of beach huts on the top photo.

Surfing in April - dapfniedesign - close up 1

Surfing in April - dapfniedesign - close up 2

How do you feel about mood boards!? Have you created mood boards yourself? Do they inspire you to create a layout or card? Do you use them to start you creativity? Please feel free to share your project with us in a comment – as always, I am very curious!

One thought on “Surfing in April – Really? | My Take On… Mood Boards! | “Shoreline” by American Crafts

  1. That choice of papers makes it look more summery and I love the embellishment you made – the done in the last photo. I’m sure I have that collection somewhere (yes i confess, I have too many papers!) I always struggle with surf board papers – we have no surfers in our family and don’t go to the beach much at all. I have one old photo with a friend holding a surfboard – it’s about time it was scrapped!

Leave a Reply

