Gad Cliff Giant | I Challenge YOU… failed Photos | Crate Paper “The Pier”


I Challenge You Logo

A very happy Friday to you all my scrappy friends! Are you ready for the weekend? I am certainly, it just has been one of these weeks…

Anyway, today’s layout features one of my failed photos – and this is going to be the challenge I am setting your for this weekend.
Gad Cliff Giant - dapfniedesign - title

I basically had this lovely picture of my friend Katja on my computer, and I wasn’t sure, if I was ever going to use it. There was not much point in correcting it more (even with the RAW converter), it would have looked too artificial and it would have destroyed the whole mood of it, so I left it like it was. And I was absolutely fine with it.

Using it on a scrapbooking layout proved to be a challenge for me. Which papers to choose? As it was a coastal pic, I dived into my themed paper packs and found this lovely bright and multicoloured background paper by Crate Paper “The Pier” collection, which in the end literally was just waiting in my stash for exact this failed photo!

I made the photo the focal point in the centre of the page and layered it with some soft and neutral patterned papers.

Gad Cliff Giant - dapfniedesign

I cut up some journaling cards from the same collection, used some of the tags, flags and the washi tape to embellish it all. I even was lucky to have all the letter stickers I needed for the title!Gad Cliff Giant - dapfniedesign - close up 1

A hint of gold (actually, more than a hint this time!) wasn’t far off and I went a bit crazy with the golden Stickles!

In the end I was really pleased with myself and how the picture, which looked quite bland to start with, turned out so much better!Gad Cliff Giant - dapfniedesign - close up 2

My challenge for you now is to pick one of your failed photos (underexposed, overexposed, out of focus…) and create a stunning layout with it, which tells the story behind this picture, so it diverts from the fact, that it is not perfect!

I am looking forward to your versions, please share a link in the comments when you finished your project!

Wish you all a lovely weekend out there – and there is something else coming up on Sunday. Shall we keep it as a surprise?

2 thoughts on “Gad Cliff Giant | I Challenge YOU… failed Photos | Crate Paper “The Pier”

  1. Ein tolles Foto und ein wundervolles, farbenfrohes Layout dazu!
    Ich liebe es, wie Du auch diese Geschichte wieder dazu in wenigen Worten erzählst.
    Einfach genial Daphne!

    GLG Ines♥

Leave a Reply

