Hello 2016 – Shimelle’s Weekly Challenge #1: Scrapbook a Selfie


Hello 2016 - dapfniedesign - Scrapbook a Selfie - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #1 - title

Hello my fellow scrapbookers and crafters! Thank you for stopping by!
I am back to the “normal” size of 12×12 layouts and really loving it! It took me a while going back to crafting though. But last week, Shimelle posted a challenge on her blog to scrapbook a selfie. What a great “excuse” to sit down and actually cut into paper again. I even used her latest paper collection “Starshine” by American Crafts (after having it at home for the last two weeks without using it).

I really like the bold colours you get with the new papers. I love the dark blue, the pinkish red and the springlike green – and all theses mixed with some turquoise, yellow and orange.

My selfie photo itself is not really colourful; I took it on Boscombe Pier while on an early morning walk on New Year’s Day. The weather was bleak and not particularly welcoming for a new year. At least my bobble hat showed some colour – a perfect match for the colour in Shimelle’s collection.Hello 2016 - dapfniedesign - Scrapbook a Selfie - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #1 - close up 1

Instead of creating an obvious visual triangle, I decided to go with a main diagonal flow. It contains not only stickers from the collection, but also some paper strips, a chipboard frame and three little cameras from the sheet “Pathfinder”. As I did not buy the stamp set (I wish I had now!), I chose a small camera I found in my stamp stash (by Studio Calico) and stamped it in a matching turquoise along the diagonal line. I also found some star stamps and embellishments to complete the layout. And as I was adding the stamped stars, I ended up adding even more stars from wood veneer, enamel dots and chipboard.Hello 2016 - dapfniedesign - Scrapbook a Selfie - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #1 - close up 3

I finished this layout last night, just in time! As it is Monday today, there is a new challenge up on Shimelle’s blog and this time she asks us to add some hearts on a layout. I’m definitely up for this challenge – are you?!

 

2 thoughts on “Hello 2016 – Shimelle’s Weekly Challenge #1: Scrapbook a Selfie

  1. Ein wundervoller Start in Dein Layoutjahr liebe Daphne!
    Die Farben sind so herrlich und passen zu Deinem fröhlichen Selphie.
    Ganz große Klasse!

    GLG Ines♥

Leave a Reply

