Compton Acres – Shimelle’s Weekly Challenge #3: Mix old Scrapbooking Stash with new Favourites


Compton Acres - dapfniedesign - Mix old Scrapbooking Stash with New Favourites - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #3 - title

Happy Sunday everyone! Hope you all had a good week and some of you even were lucky enough to have some time off during half term? Well, yes, I had a few days and I really cannot believe it is time to get back to school tomorrow! I am glad though it is going to be a quick term and then it is the Easter Holidays! I also cannot wait for the weather to get better – at the moment it is just dull, chilly, but not too frosty. When I opened my window this morning it smelled of spring – roll on March, bring out all the rest of the flowers! Love to see all those colours again!

This might also be the reason I picked some photos from last April for my latest layout. They were from Mr Evans’ and my trip to Compton Acres in Poole when spring was full on! What a great day we had!

Compton Acres - dapfniedesign - Mix old Scrapbooking Stash with New Favourites - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #3

As Shimelle’s challenge this week was to mix old scrapbooking stash with new favourites, I pulled out a set of My Mind’s Eye Jubilee Sherbet Collection (which actually is not new to the scrapbooking world, but for me as I bought it at TKMaxx just a couple of weeks ago) and mixed it up with some older Cosmo Cricket Tea for Two elements. I think it was a success!Compton Acres - dapfniedesign - Mix old Scrapbooking Stash with New Favourites - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #3 - close up 2

I also used some stamps from a My Mind’s Eye stamp set, some Papertrey Ink frame stamps and the rub ons which came with the main paper collection. The layout is slightly influenced by Glitter Girl’s latest Adventure 129: Titles & Tribulations layout, which is all about how to choose the right title for your layout. As my page here is more like an opening page for the photos I took at Compton Acres, I just took the name of the garden as a title. Simplest. But after watching the video I had a few more ideas for the next pages and on how to choose the right title.Compton Acres - dapfniedesign - Mix old Scrapbooking Stash with New Favourites - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #3 - close up 1

I am intrigued what Shimelle and Glitter Girl is coming up with next time, roll on Monday for the next challenge! Meanwhile, you can find me with some pretty paper at my desk! Have a lovely Sunday and thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Compton Acres – Shimelle’s Weekly Challenge #3: Mix old Scrapbooking Stash with new Favourites

Leave a Reply

