Surf’s Up! – Shimelle’s Weekly Challenge #4: Go Monochromatic on your Scrapbooking Page


Surf's Up! - dapfniedesign - Go Monochromatic - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #4 - title

Happy Sunday! Hope you had a good week back to work/school (just depends, really!). I felt a bit rough this week and still try to fight off a cold. That’s one of the reasons why this layout here was just finished today!
This week Shimelle challenged us to go monochromatic and use just one colour on our layout. As my picture was colourful already, I thought I go with one of the colours which was actually not on there at all: turquoise-greenish-blueSurf's Up! - dapfniedesign - Go Monochromatic - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #4

I kept repeating the lines in the photo with my paper strips, which I dug out of my scraps drawer. Also, my journaling repeats the diagonal lines. Can you spot the little cameras?! I found the paper which was originally by October Afternoon deep down in the green/blue section – it matches perfectly with my colours!Surf's Up! - dapfniedesign - Go Monochromatic - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #4 - close up 3

As I wasn’t sure if I should put the camera border down, I asked the lovely ladies from Shimelle’s Scrapbook like a Superhero group on Facebook. Guess what ALL of them suggested! Well, yes. Sure. How can you resist cameras? I certainly cannot. Thank you for everyone who helped me out with this small dilemma!Surf's Up! - dapfniedesign - Go Monochromatic - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #4 - close up 1

For the rest of the layout I just picked out a lot of my stash with the matching colours. I particularly like the little stars and the people shapes – really cute! I also try to use my stamps more often and this time I found a frame stamp really helpful (Amy Tangerine, AC) and the arrows in a line (Studio Calico). The big one “I love this” wasn’t used often enough and as it fit perfectly here, I just used it too!

Surf's Up! - dapfniedesign - Go Monochromatic - Shimelle's Weekly Challenge #4 - close up 2

Yesterday my first Like For Ever kit (UK-based) arrived and I am excited to cut into it. After thinking about joining for a while already, I finally caved in last month. The March Kit is the lovely paper from Cocoa Vanilla “Free Spirit”. Lovely lightweight colours, great patterns and adorable embellishments. Really intrigued to start!

Thank you for stopping by on my blog. Have a lovely week and CU next Sunday!

4 thoughts on “Surf’s Up! – Shimelle’s Weekly Challenge #4: Go Monochromatic on your Scrapbooking Page

  1. Was für eine wunderbare Geschichte Du wieder mit Deinem Layout erzählst und wie wunderbar es auch mit nur einer Farbe funktioniert.
    Wie gerne würde ich mal wieder ein richtiges englisches Frühstück essen!

    GLG Ines♥

  2. I really like all the layers and little details sprinkled throughout. The row of cameras is especially eye-catching– but even though everything is lovely, it still allows the photo and the story to take center-stage. Fantastic layout! I really like it.

Leave a Reply

